yeloson: (Default)
[personal profile] yeloson
(The post that follows is spoiler free, the comments, feel free to spoil away).

First of all, I love the fact that this isn't a stupid show. People make sensible plans, and sensible counterplans, etc. And that all the Benders are developing intelligent tactics and tons of things that geeks naturally go "I wonder if so and so could do THIS?", and not necessarily having to explain it all, like a lot of bad 80's Marvel comics would do every issue ("Hey Fire Man, use your ability to control fire, to put out that fire!")

What I'm not digging is just the horribly clumsy way of dealing with exposition, especially this late in the game. I was willing to forgive the first two episodes into this season, but we're half way through and it's like the writers are scrambling to drop in key points and wrapping each one around a brick and throwing it through a window. While poking at the fact self referentially is cute, it's just happening too much for me to ignore it.

There's also some weird shifts in terms of animation- they've changed the coloring and a bit of the character designs, I kept watching these two episodes thinking something was off in terms of the way the characters looked. It really was bugging me on any close up.

Now, onto pure squee. The characters having real emotional shifts- swinging from self doubt to confidence, from confidence to self doubt, and on their own personal story arcs. That's awesome. Zuko makes some personal choices, and prime character interaction. I'm pretty excited overall for the rest of the season, as long as they put down the clue by fours and smooth it out some.

Profile

yeloson: (Default)
yeloson

November 2012

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 05:32 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios